Testimonials

We receive many letters from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

Our family was truly grateful to work with Tyra at Matz funeral home. From the very beginning, she makes you feel comfortable. No sales pitches, just honestly wants the process of arranging a funeral to be as easy as possible. Definitely a professional in her profession.

5 stars
Joe Hornat December 08, 2022

Matz Mt. Prospect Funeral Chapel, Inc.

On behalf of the Fitzgerald family, I would like to thank the staff of Matz Funeral Chapel. Everyone was so kind, compassionate and caring. Our family lost Alice, our 95 year old mother and 3 days later the oldest sibling of the family, Jim. The team at Matz went above and beyond getting us through this time and the arrangements we needed. On Saturday we had a private visitation and burial for our mother and on Sunday and Monday we had a visitation for Jim. There were over 700 guests that came to say goodbye. The team at Matz was serving coffee and hot chocolate to the guests that were lined up outside in the parking lot. They did all they could to be sure everything ran smoothly. And it did. Matz is a beautiful and welcoming funeral home in every way. Thank you Tyra, Alex and Shawn.

5 stars
Kimberly Fitzgerald November 01, 2022

Matz Mt. Prospect Funeral Chapel, Inc.

While we deal with this difficult time of grief, we'd like to send a special thank you to Tyra and Alex for your compassion which really touched our souls and was much appreciated. The greatest comfort during our time of sorrow was your active participation in making the funeral service run smooth. Tyra you were always there to answer any questions, to reassure us, and provide understanding. Thank you to the Matz team for your kind expressions of sympathy. Julia Mayes, Michael Wells, and the extended Family of Sallie Sue Wells.

5 stars
Julia Mayes September 19, 2022

Matz Mt. Prospect Funeral Chapel, Inc.

Tyra Poindexter, Funeral Director, was available to me and my family in planning the Celebration of Life for my sister Michelle Marie Allen on May 23, 24, 2022. Tyra was soft spoken and very sensitive to our loss, she approached all of our questions with professionalism and kindness. The facility was beautiful and offered a warm feeling upon entering the building. The staff was helpful the night of the viewing, anticipating our needs and followed through with them expeditiously. Tyra went above and beyond at St. Raymond's where the Catholic Mass and funeral were held. Prior to the end of the mass, Tyra assisted, Liz Shannon, RN in coordinating the Nurses Honor Guard-Nightingale Tribute, which was reassuring. From start to finish, the Celebration of Life was a beautiful honor to Michelle. Thank you again Tyra and Staff of Matz Funeral Home, Mt. Prospect.

5 stars
Gail Ann Bending June 11, 2022

Matz Mt. Prospect Funeral Chapel, Inc.

My family and I can’t thank enough Tyra Poindexter and her intern Alex for the fantastic way they assisted us in celebrating the wonderful life of our beloved sister/aunt who left us way too early. They both were so caring and helpful during the whole event. We had a unique request for celebrating my sister’s love of the Cubs, and they went above and beyond to not only accommodate our requests, but also joined in on the celebrations. Their enthusiasm to support us was a great comfort during this difficult time. They clearly have a passion for what they do and we are thankful for having had the chance to work with them.

5 stars
Carol Levin April 28, 2022

Matz Mt. Prospect Funeral Chapel, Inc.

In our time of sorrow, Tyra, Alex (and staff) provided us with the support and understanding that we needed. It’s never easy to lose a loved one, especially a parent, but Tyra and Alex guided us , listened to us and most importantly made this very difficult time for us, manageable. Tyra and Alex (and staff), thank you, you were fantastic and my family will always remember you. The Joy B. Joseph Family

5 stars
Thomas L. Joseph December 02, 2022

Tyra, Alex, and Elisha were so supportive, empathetic, and professional with everything- from the planning to the services. We initially just went in to check out the place as we were still deciding where we wanted to hold the service for my mother who passed suddenly, but decided on the spot that this is the location and team that was the best. The location in Mt. Prospect is an updated and beautiful space. Nice lighting, good chapel selections, a good sized cafeteria room and nice bathrooms. Lovely plants by the entrances. The location feels bright and calm, which was perfect for us as we chose to make the service celebration of life focused. We appreciated that there was a lot of parking with accessible entrances and floor plan- perfect for family members that do not have great mobility. When planning everything, Tyra laid everything out for us and made such an overwhelming process easy. They have about 10 coffins in the location (+ more catalog options), which makes it easer to chose from rather than only looking at a catalog. They also had some example items for cremation services. For the service, we had a unique layout and Tyra, Alex, and Elisha made it happen. They made it so that all we had to worry about during the services was focus on connecting with family. As a family we could not have asked for a better team to carry out a beautiful service for my mother.

5 stars
Isabel Bravo October 24, 2022

During this very difficult time of loss, Tyra Poindexter, Funeral Director, with compassion and great patience guided our family with the myriad of items to be completed to honor our beloved dad. Tyra’s very careful attention to detail in making numerous arrangements, including the viewing, the church services, and an honor guard, etc.; her follow-through; and being there with us every step of the way, gave us the strength and support we needed through the entire process. We are very grateful to Tyra, and thank her for her outstanding support!!!

5 stars
Mary Skittone June 12, 2022

My sincere thanks and gratitude to Tyra Poindexter and all the staff at Matz Funeral Home. Tyra’s compassion and professionalism gave us comfort and trust that all the details of the visitation, religious service and burial would go as planned. Allowing us the peace of mind to attend to our guests and their needs. I would wholeheartedly recommend Matz Funeral Home to any grieving family and to place their trust in Tyra and the rest of the Matz team in arranging the funeral for your loved one.

5 stars
Phyllis Carpenter May 14, 2022